Skip to main content

Guide to Prohibited, Domestic Regulated and Quarantine Soils

The Cornell Soil Health Lab has three categories of regulated soils: Prohibited, Domestic Regulated and Quarantined.

All samples being shipped to the Cornell Lab, regardless of the category, need to be double bagged prior to packaging and shipping. Packing material such as crumpled paper or bubble wrap must be placed in the box with the samples to minimize sample movement and spillage during shipping.

NOTE: Advance authorization from the Cornell Soil Health Lab is required before shipping Quarantined soils. Submission forms for soil analyses requested are required to be included in the shipping box with the soil samples. Quarantined soils received without prior authorization, submission forms and/or proper paperwork will be destroyed upon receipt. Please see definition of Quarantined soil below.

Prohibited Soils:

There are certain counties in the US where soil should neither be packaged nor shipped, these are considered prohibited soils. Soil received from these counties will be destroyed in our lab without processing.

United States:

Florida: Broward, Dade

Idaho: Bingham, Bonneville

New York: Erie, Niagara, Orleans

Texas: Cameron, Hidalgo, Star, Webb, Zapata


Alberta (A farm unit and associated land located near the municipality of Fort Saskatchewan; and a farm unit and associated land located near the municipality of Spruce Grove.)

British Colombia (Central Saanich on Vancouver Island)

Newfoundland and Labrador: (The entire Island of Newfoundland)

Quebec: (The municipality of Saint-Amble)

Domestic Regulated Soils:

We accept soils from regulated areas throughout the United States. As with all samples, please be sure to double bag and use packing material to minimize sample movement during shipping. Special lab procedures (using Quarantine protocol) are required for regulated soils.

Entire state:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Florida
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas

Domestic Regulated Counties:

  • New Mexico: Dona Ana
  • New York: Cayuga, Livingston, Nassau, Kings, Queens, Seneca, Steuben, Suffolk, Wayne
  • Virginia: Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Suffolk, Isle of Wight, Hampton, York, James City, Poquoson
  • Oregon: Curry

Quarantined Soils:

Quarantined soils are from any area outside the contiguous United States. Special shipping and lab procedures are required for quarantined soils. You must contact the Cornell Soil Health Lab prior to shipping quarantined soils: Quarantined samples are subject to an additional 15% surcharge.

Additional Resources:

Printable list: Regulated Soil Guide 10-18-19

For the current guide to what areas are prohibited or regulated visit the United States Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service ( USDA-APHIS) website.

Skip to toolbar